03 May 2012

Kentucky Women Writers Conference Gabehart Prize 2012

Post date: 03 May 2012
Deadline: 1 July 2012

Each year the Kentucky Women Writers Conference offers opportunities for both emerging and established voices to be singled out and cheered on by our community. The Betty Gabehart Prize honors our good friend, patron, and former director who led the conference during its seminal decade in the 1980s.

One winner will be chosen in each of three genres: poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction. Winners receive:
  • $200
  • two 2-day passes for herself and one guest
  • the opportunity to read her winning manuscript during the conference on September 21 and 22, 2012.
  • one space in a small-group writing workshop for herself

  • Please do not apply if you have won this award in the past five years (2007 or later).
  • Works that are previously published are not eligible for this award.
  • The contest is open to any female writer of English.
  • Employees or board members of the Kentucky Women Writers Conference are not eligible.

Manuscript Format
  • Fiction and nonfiction should be no more than 6,000 words in length; poems have no word limit.
  • Please submit two copies of the manuscript.
  • The author’s name or address must not appear anywhere on the manuscript.
  • The manuscript must be on standard white paper, single-sided.
  • Paginate correctly.

Submission Information
  • Each work entered must be accompanied by its own entry form and entry fee, as follows: $10 per poem, work of fiction or nonfiction, payable to Kentucky Women Writers Conference. Please write a single check for multiple entries.
  • Submission of more than one work is permissible; each must be accompanied by its own entry form and fee. If multiple works are entered with a single entry fee, only the first work will be accepted.
  • Manuscripts must be postmarked by July 1, 2012.
  • Please include a self-addressed, stamped postcard if you would like notification that the manuscript has been received.
  • We cannot return manuscripts.
  • Contest results will be posted on our website on August 10, 2012. Winners will be notified immediately.


For inquiries: direct inquiries to kentuckywomenwriters@gmail.com

For submissions: send entries to Betty Gabehart Prize, Kentucky Women Writers Conference, University of Kentucky, 232 East Maxwell Street, Lexington, KY 40506-0344

Website: http://www.uky.edu/WWK/
This blog is no longer updated. Please instead visit Writers For Diversity for new opportunities for women/ LGBT writers and writers of color. Thank you.