13 January 2011

UNESCO/Guillermo Cano $25,000 World Press Freedom Prize 2011

Post date: 13 January 2011
Deadline: 15 February 2011

UNESCO invites Member States, regional and international organizations, professional and non-governmental organizations working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression to nominate candidates for the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2011.

The purpose of the Prize, supported by the Guillermo Cano Foundation, the Nicholas B. Ottaway Foundation and JP/Politiken Newspapers LTD, is to honour a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if this involved risk.

The prize is intended to reward journalists who have shown dedication in the name of freedom of expression and information and to afford them the international recognition they deserve. Awarded annually, the Prize is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000.

The 2011 Prize will be awarded during the World Press Freedom Day conference, which will take place in May.

How to submit your nomination

Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the form in English>> or French>> and sending it before 15 February 2011 by normal mail or by email to:

Division for Freedom of Expression, Democracy and Peace
1, rue Miollis
75732 Paris cedex 15

E-mail: s.coudray(at)unesco.org

More information here.
This blog is no longer updated. Please instead visit Writers For Diversity for new opportunities for women/ LGBT writers and writers of color. Thank you.