28 April 2011

The $10,000 Asher Literary Award 2011 for Australian Female Author

Post date: 28 April 2011
Deadline: 1 July 2011

The Asher Literary Award was offered for the first time in 2005 in collaboration with the Literature Board of the Australia Council. This award has been made possible by a generous bequest from Mrs Helen Waltraud Rosalie Asher. Helen Asher was a writer (she also used the name Helen Ulrich) and published one novel, Tilly's Fortunes (Penguin, 1986), and some other shorter works of fiction which appeared in various anthologies.

Helen Asher was a post-WWII German refugee from fascism. Along with her husband Mervyn, she was deeply committed to the artistic and cultural life of their adoptive country, Australia, and both were active in literary circles in Sydney.

Mrs Asher specified that the bequest be directed solely to the creation of an award to be won or received by a female author of a literary work which carries an anti-war message or theme. The value of the award is $10,000.

2011 Asher Literary Award

Applications are invited for the 2011 Asher Award. Entries close on Friday, 1st July 2011.


1. The award is open to Australian women writers only.

2. The entrant must be an Australian citizen or permanent resident.

3. Eligible entries must carry an anti-war message or theme.

4. Entries will be accepted in the following genres; fiction, literary non-fiction (defined as works of biography, autobiography, essays, histories, literary criticism or analytical prose but excluding edited and compiled publications), children’s literature, poetry, creative writing for performance, screen or new media.

5. Entries must have been first published, or in the case of drama, first performed, or in the case of screen or new media first displayed/screened, in Australia between 1 July 2009 – 1 July 2011. Full details of publication, performance and screening must be included in the application.
6. Selection will be made on the basis of literary merit.

7. Three (3) copies of the entire application are to be submitted (electronic applications will not be accepted). Each application must consist of: a curriculum vitae with list of previous publications, a 500 word artist statement of project vision and outcomes, copy of actual work (see guideline 4 above).

8. The total prize money is $10,000.

9. Entries close on Friday, 1 July 2011.

10. Please direct enquiries and send the application to

Awards Coordinator, The Australian Centre,
The University of Melbourne, Victoria 3010
tel: (03) 8344 4154,
email: awards-austcentre@unimelb.edu.au.

11. Please note application material will not be returned.

Application form >>

Contact Information:

For inquiries: awards-austcentre@unimelb.edu.au

For submissions: awards-austcentre@unimelb.edu.au

Website: http://australian-centre.unimelb.edu.au/
This blog is no longer updated. Please instead visit Writers For Diversity for new opportunities for women/ LGBT writers and writers of color. Thank you.