07 October 2010

Call for Nominations: 2010 Susan Koppelman Award for Best Anthology, Multi-Authored, or Edited Book in Feminist Studies in Popular Culture

Post date: 07 October 2010
Deadline: 31 December 2010

2010 Susan Koppelman Award for Best Anthology, Multi-Authored, or Edited Book in Feminist Studies in Popular Culture

The 2010 Susan Koppelman Award is sponsored by the Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association. Award winners will be announced at the PCA/ACA annual convention in San Antonia Texas, April 20-April 23, 2011 and posted on the PCA/ACA website at http://www.h-net.org/~pcaaca/, on other appropriate websites, and in newsletters.

Submissions and Nominations Procedures:
Books published in 2010 are eligible for consideration for this year’s awards. The deadline for receipt of materials to be considered is December 31, 2010.

Please send one copy of nominated books to each of the Award Committee members below:

Jennifer Tebbe-Grossman
Chair, PCA/ACA Susan Koppelman Award Committee
Professor of Political Science and American Studies
School of Arts and Sciences
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
179 Longwood Avenue
Boston, Massachusetts 02115

Grace Dillon
Assistant Professor of English
English Department
P.O. Box 751
Portland State University
Portland, Oregon 97207-0751

Daniel Richardson
268 Humboldt Avenue
Roxbury, Massachusetts 02121

Melody Moskwicz
4375 E. Coronado Ridge Lane
Tucson, Arizona 85739

Susan Koppelman was the first woman to receive the American Culture Association Governing Board Award for Outstanding Contributions to American Culture Studies. The Women's Joint Caucus for the American and Popular Culture Associations honored her by the establishment of the annual Susan Koppelman Award for Best Anthology, Multi-Authored, or Edited book in Feminist Studies in Popular Culture. The first award was announced in 1985. Susan Koppelman is a feminist literary historian and is the editor of ground-breaking critical collections of American women's short stories. She also edited the first anthology of feminist literary criticism.

Recent Award Winners:

2009. The Fat Studies Reader. Edited by Esther Rothblum and Sondral Solovay. New York, New York: NYU Press.

2008. Teatro Chicana: A Collective Memoir and Selected Plays. Edited by Laura E. Garcia, Sandra M. Gutierrez, and Felicitas Nuñez. Austin, TX: University of Texas Press.

2007. After the Revolution: Women Who Transformed Contemporary Art. Edited by Eleanor Heartney, Helaine Posner, Nancy Princenthal, and Sue Scott. New York, New York: Prestel Press.

2006. Daughters of Earth: Feminist Science Fiction in the Twentieth Century. Edited by Justine Larbalestier. Middletown, CT: Wesleyan University Press.

More information here.
This blog is no longer updated. Please instead visit Writers For Diversity for new opportunities for women/ LGBT writers and writers of color. Thank you.