02 August 2010

Four Women Win Nimrod's Katherine Anne Porter Prize in Fiction 2010

Post date: 02 August 2010
The editors of Nimrod International Journal are delighted to announce the winners of the 32nd Nimrod Literary Awards:

Nimrod Literary Awards: The Katherine Anne Porter Prize in Fiction

FIRST PRIZE: $2,000 Shannon Robinson, “Miscarriages”
SECOND PRIZE: $1,000 Laura LeCorgne, “Really Good Feet”
HONORABLE MENTIONS: Lydia Kann, “The Arrival” and Sue Pace, “Obituary for an Asshole”

Nimrod extends deep appreciation to all who submitted. There were 690 poetry manuscripts and 571 short stories submitted to the 2010 competition. Selecting poetry finalists and fiction finalists from these was a task that dominated the lives of 41 Nimrod editors all spring. They approached their mission with dedication and discretion, reading and rereading the final group, comparing notes, and speaking for favorites. The finalists’ manuscripts, without cover letters or names, were sent to the judges for 2010, Molly Peacock, poetry, and David Wroblewski, fiction. They chose the winners and honorable mentions from the finalist group.

The 33rd Nimrod Literary Awards competition begins January 1, 2011; the postmark deadline is April 30, 2011. We welcome your submissions, knowing that each year brings new discoveries, often from those who have submitted to the competition before. (All entrants not previously contacted by Nimrod about their work may consider their work released at this time.)

Details here.
This blog is no longer updated. Please instead visit Writers For Diversity for new opportunities for women/ LGBT writers and writers of color. Thank you.